The Liar and His Lover

drama information page featured image of Korean drama The Liar and His Lover


The Liar and His Lover tells the innocent love story of prodigy composer Kang Han-kyul and high school band singer Yoon So-rim. She falls in love with him at first sight and he becomes drawn to her beautiful voice that inspires him. He hides his real identity from her but eventually falls in love with the girl.


General Information

  • Status: COMPLETED
  • Drama Title: The Liar and His Lover
  • Other Titles: Lovely Love Lie
  • Genre: Romantic Comedy
  • Director: Kim Jin-min
  • Writer: Kim Kyung-min
  • No. of Episodes: 16
  • Broadcast Period: Mar  20 – May 9, 2017
  • Time Slot: 23:00 Korean Standard Time, Mon & Tue
  • Runtime: 60 minutes
  • TV Network: tvN (cable)
  • Production Company(s): Bon Factory, Studio Dragon
  • Preceded by: Introverted Boss
  • Followed by: Circle

Main Cast & Characters

main cast of korean drama the liar and his lover

Lee Hyun-woo as Kang Han-kyul. Kang Han-kyul is a brilliant music composer who becomes enchanted by So-rim’s amazing voice. He hides her identity and true feelings from her, but the two eventually enter into a romantic relationship. 

Joy as Yoon So-rim. Yoon So-rim is a high school band singer who falls in love with Han-kyul at first sight and honestly confesses her feelings to him.

Lee Jung Jin as Choi Jin-hyuk. Choi Jin-hyuk is the mentor of Kang Han-kyul and the one who recruits him into an idol band. He’s the type of producer who is great at spotting and developing great talents like Han-kyul.

Lee Seo-won as Seo Chan-young. Seo Chan-young is the bass guitar player of the idol band Crude Play.

Hong Seo-young as Chae Yoo-na. Chae Yoo-na is a singer who hits international stardom through the help of Choi Jin-hyuk.


The orange and green numbers indicate the lowest and highest ratings, respectively. All values are expressed in %.
The Liar and His Lover Viewership Ratings Data
Episode #Broadcast dateNielsen KoreaTNMS
1Mar 20, 20171.5241.7072.0
2Mar 21, 20171.4271.3451.7
3Mar 27, 20171.2671.7651.3
4Mar 28, 20171.8392.3091.7
5Apr 3, 20171.4351.7751.7
6Apr 4, 20171.4601.5061.2
7Apr 10, 20171.6932.0121.7
8Apr 11, 20171.6231.8281.7
9Apr 17, 20171.4941.8391.3
10Apr 18, 20171.4331.7191.2
11Apr 24, 20171.3841.6411.2
12Apr 25, 20171.5922.0151.4
13May 1, 20171.3871.6091.0
14May 2, 20171.5501.7361.8
15May 8, 20171.227n/a1.8
16May 9, 20171.379n/a1.4

Official Posters

Original Soundtrack

  • OST Part 1
    • No. 1: A Fox by Joy
    • No. 2: A Fox (instrumental)
  • OST Part 2
    • No. 1: I’m Okay by Joy feat. Lee Hyun-woo
    • No. 2: I’m Okay (instrumental)
  • OST Part 3
    • No. 1: I’m OK by Crude Play
    • NO. 2: Peterpan by Crude Play
  • OST Part 4
    • No. 1: Your Days by Joy
    • No. 2: Your Days (instrumental)
  • OST Part 5
    • No. 1: Shiny Boy by Joy
    • No. 2: Shiny Boy (instrumental)
  • OST Part 6
  • OST Part 7
    • No. 1: In Your Eyes by Crude Play
    • No. 2: In Your Eyes (instrumental)
  • OST Part 8
  • OST Part 9
    • No. 1: The Way To Me by Joy
    • No. 2: The Way To Me (instrumental)


Write a comment

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of